Lincoln County votes in midterm elections

GAZETTE PHOTO / Theresa Davis

Sixth penny ballot proposition fails

Kemmerer residents vote at the Events Center on Tuesday, Nov. 6. Lincoln County residents voted against the special purpose excise tax ballot proposition in Tuesday’s election.

Lincoln County residents voted in the midterm general election on Tuesday, Nov. 6.

All election results are unofficial until the State Canvassing Board meets to certify the results of the General Election on Wednesday, Nov. 14.

There were a total of 7,267 ballots cast in Lincoln County. This number was up from the 5,902 ballots that were cast in the 2014 midterm election in Lincoln County.

The county-wide special purpose excise tax (sixth penny) ballot proposition did not pass.

The measure would have instituted a county-wide one percent sales tax increase to fund specific projects for Lincoln County’s cities and towns. 

The votes for the sixth penny tax were 3,090 for the proposition and 3,669 against the proposition.


The Diamondville mayor race went to Charles “Mark” Langley with 181 votes. Langley ran unopposed.

Clint M. Bowen (177 votes) and Kathleen J. Stukel (128 votes) won the two 4-year Diamondville council positions. Opponent Phillip Joseph Viviano received 113 votes.

Eric Backman won the 2-year Diamondville council seat with 143 votes. Nicole Petersen received 92 votes.


Vance Chamberlain ran unopposed for Kemmerer Council Ward 1 and received 236 votes.

Mark Quinn ran unopposed for Kemmerer Council Ward 2 and received 238 votes.

Eric Rudy was re-elected to Kemmerer Council Ward 3 with 230 votes. Opponent April Corwin received 141 votes.


Rose Arndt won the Cokeville mayor race with 110 votes. Stanley Thompson Jr. had 81.

Taylor Allred (85 votes) and Michael Shane Pope (152) won the two open Cokeville council seats. Opponent Charles L. Dayton had 51 votes and opponent Wayne Harmon had 84 votes.

Cokeville voted to pass the following ballot proposition:

“Shall the Cokeville Hospital District be allowed to finance the purchase of the medical facility and land at the current clinic location, 10765 US Higway 30, for the approximate purchase price of $120,000 and to pledge the revenues of the district as collateral for the loan?”

There were 258 votes for the propisiton and 34 votes against.


In the LaBarge mayor race, Larry Stepp won with 112 votes. Opponent Betty Moceika received 99 votes.

Bobby Jacobson (116 votes) and Zachary Key (128 votes) were elected to the two open LaBarge council positions. Opponent Lucas Anstett had 47 and Tony J. Portera had 86 votes.


County Commissioners: Jerry T. Harmon was re-elected with 5,109 votes. Robert King was also re-elected with 4,640 votes.

Dain Schwab ran unopposed and received 6,175 votes to win the County Coroner race.

Spencer Allred was re-elected to the County Attorney office with 6,200 votes.

County Sheriff: Shane Johnson received 6,371 votes and was re-elected to County Sheriff.

April Brunski received 6,434 votes to be elected to the office of County Clerk.

Jerry Greenfield was elected County Treasurer with 6,196 votes.

Debbie Larson was re-elected to County Assessor with 6,352 votes.

Kenneth D. Roberts was re-elected to Clerk of District Court with 6,334 votes.


Anthony J. Ritzdorf won the unopposed Opal mayor race with 16 votes. Michael Beehler and John McKnight IV were elected to the two open Opal council seats with 16 votes and 12 votes, respectively.


Robert Peternal was re-elected to the Lincoln County School District No. 1 school board with 1047 votes. Don Lamborn was also re-elected to the LCSD No. 1 school board with 977 votes.


Lincoln Conservation District Director (Rural Candidate) – Dan Kruckenberg with 1611 votes

Lincoln Conservation District Director (Urban Candidate) – Paula Bowling with 1681 votes

South Lincoln Hospital District Trustee (2-year term) – David Fagnant with 1308 votes

South Lincoln Hospital District Trustee (4-year term) – William Ball with 461 votes

Dan Kruckenberg (1082 votes) and Dennis Oden (945 votes) were elected to the two open South Lincoln Fire District Director positions.


According to the Wyoming Secretary of State’s office, 205,465 ballots were cast in the Cowboy State.

Thomas D. Crank won re-election to the Wyoming state legislature in House District 18 with 3,093 votes. Crank ran unopposed.

In the U.S. senate race, incumbent Republican John Barrasso secured 136,129 votes.

Democratic opponent Gary Trauner received 61,254 votes, and Libertarian opponent Joseph Porambo received 5,697.

Liz Cheney won re-election to the House of Representatives with 127,883 votes. Greg Hunter (D) receieved 59,929 votes, Richard Brubaker (L) received 6,884 and Daniel Clyde Cummings (C) received 6,194 votes.

In the race for Wyoming governor, Republican Mark Gordon won with 136,339 votes. Democratic opponent Mary Throne received 55,984 votes, Struempf (L) received 3,114 and Rex “T-Rex” Rammell (C) received 6,739 votes.

Edward Buchanan (R) won the Wyoming Secretary of State race with 136,939 votes.

Democratic opponent James W. Byrd received 53, 384 votes and Kit Carson (L) received 8,604 votes.

Republican Kristi Racines won the State Auditor race with 143,887 votes. Jeff Dockter (D) earned 52,488 votes.

Curt Meier (R) came out on top in the State Treasurer race with 141,732 votes. Chris Lowry (D) received 54,894 votes.

Jillian Ballow (R) was re-elected to the Superintendent of Public Instruction position with 163,690 votes. Ballow ran unopposed in the general election.

Lincoln County residents also voted to retain Judge Craig L. Jones, Judge John R. Prokos and Judge Frank J. Zebre for the Third Judicial District for Circuit Court.