4-H hosts awards banquet

Kathy Davison and Shar Perry present Carson Carlson with the Senior Member award during the 4-H end-of-year banquet on Oct.9. (GAZETTE PHOTO / Michelle Tibbetts)

For more photos, see the photo gallery on the Gazette homepage. 

The Lincoln County 4-H Club celebrated their members’ achievements this year on Monday, Oct. 9, with an awards banquet  at Kemmerer's South Lincoln Training and Events Center. It was a full house as members of the community, families and even a couple of Lincoln County Commissioners joined the 4-H members in support of their outstanding accomplishments.

Hosting the event were Kathy Davison, a 4-H Educator in Kemmerer and a University of Wyoming Interim Extension Agent; Holly Erikson, the Club Organizational Leader; and Shar Perry, a Lincoln County 4-H Educator. They began by recognizing the newest members of the club and giving them each a "Greenest Member" certificate. These kids jumped headfirst into 4-H and never looked back.

“There is a lot to take in when deciding to join the 4-H family,” Erikson said. “There are a lot of events and projects available and it can be hard to decide what to get involved in.”

"Greenest members" were Maylon Chewning, Claire Crosland, Brent Erikson, Jamie Erikson, Kyle Fox, Lily Lundgren, Carly Ogle, Bennet Pollard, Taylor Ridgeway, Aspen Snively and Stephan Zobell.

Each 4-H member has the opportunity to create a record book filled with all the activities, projects and county fair events that they participated in throughout the year. It is a big task filled with many details and can be very time consuming, Erikson explained. However, many members do an outstanding job with these record books, and their efforts were awarded.

Senior member Rebecca Ashliman, Intermediate Kaden Witbeck and Junior Kabrie Witbeck were given the Outstanding Record Book awards.

Davison recognized Carson Carlson as the Outstanding Senior Member award. “Carson is always very helpful and willing to help the younger kids,” said Davison. “He gives his time and attention to those kids. Carson has excelled in the shooting sports event with which he went on to State competitions.”

Leader Bruce Dryden also spoke at the podium and commended Carson on his achievements, maturity and excellent role modeling.Carlson was given a monogrammed shirt and certificate.

The Outstanding Leader award went to Jessica Witbeck. As Witbeck approached the podium, Davison said, "Jessica is part of our club leadership and does a wonderful job. She not only helps with managing the club, she also is a project leader for quilting, the swine club and helps with the community barn.”

She was commended for donating an enormous amount of her time and sharing her knowledge with all members of the club.

The most active member award went to Aralyn Erickson. Thanks went to Aralyn for jumping into 4-H with both feet, the leaders said with congratulations. She participated in numerous county, community area and state events.

Friends of 4-H award went to Veronica Profit. “Veronica provides endless amounts of time and donations to our club,” said Perry. “She is always willing to pitch in and help wherever she can. Thank you for always letting us use your trailer and for everything you do.”

Most helpful member at fair award went to Bennet Pollard. “County Fair is a busy time for 4-H members and families,” said Jessica Witbeck, Club Organizational Leader.  “It’s a time to showcase all of the hard work that they have put into their projects. This year, we would like to recognize Bennet Pollard for his hard work, dedication and overall helpfulness at the Lincoln County Fair.” 

Outstanding Officer award was presented to Tucker Erickson. “A great club needs great leadership,” said Witbeck. “An officer needs to be enthusiastic, tactful and friendly. Tucker is willing to step up and get the job done.”

The club also recognized Miriam Feely for her leadership role over the last few years. “We are so grateful for your time and talents that you shared with all the kids of 4-H,” Erikson said. “Thank you for all the work you have done for our club.”

Davison thanked the 2017 officers before announcing the new Hamsfork Hands 4-H club officers. The new officers are: Historians Carli Ogle, Kabrie Witbeck and Claire Crosland; Reporters Braxton Pope and Rebecca Ashliman; Secretary Cindi Ashliman; Treasurer Victoria Peck; Vice President Kaden Witbeck and President Tucker Erickson.